Skip to main content

Warriors and Heroes

Mars, the ruling planet of Aries, is the warrior of the zodiac, known for his strength and drive. 

As featured in the Oscar-nominated documentary Crip Camp, and for readers of I Am Malala, one of the most influential disability rights activists in US history tells her story of fighting to belong. “If I didn’t fight, who would?” Judy Heumann was only 5 years old when she was first denied her right ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Meet the unsung Latino rebels, artists, and activists who changed the United States—from Dolores Huerta to Desi Arnaz to Lin Manuel Miranda—in this bold and entertaining graphic history. From community activism to the halls of government, pop-culture, arts, and beyond, Latinos have shaped every aspe ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Jenieka L. Pearson wakes up every day knowing that she's either going to be a student to her son or a teacher. As a single mother, she's found she's needed to be both if she wants to raise a man, which is something her own family thought impossible. When her son was just a year old, the author had t ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Linda Connolly (Editor)
Current price: $29.95
The narrative of the Irish revolution as a chronology of great men and male militarism, with women presumed to have either played a subsidiary role or no role at all, requires reconsideration. Women and feminists were extremely active in Irish revolutionary causes from 1912 onwards, but ultimately i ... Read More about
Based on more than two years of fieldwork conducted in a Yemeni community in southeastern Michigan, this unique study examines Yemeni American girls' attempts to construct and make sense of their identities as Yemenis, Muslims, Americans, daughters of immigrants, teenagers, and high school students. ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
This unique picture book biography tells the story of Dr. James Barry, born female, who lived as a man from age 18 to his death. Like other girls of her time, Margaret Bulkley didn't go to school. She wouldn't grow up to own property, be a soldier, a doctor, or hold any job other than perhaps maid ... Read More about
Activist, teacher, author and icon of the Black Power movement Angela Davis talks Ferguson, Palestine, and prison abolition. ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
This revelatory and inclusive book “unearths the stories of the people—farm laborers, domestic workers, factory employees—behind some of the labor movement’s biggest successes” (The New York Times) from independent journalist and Teen Vogue labor columnist Kim Kelly. Freed Black women organizing for ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Regine Pernoud
Current price: $16.95
Using historical documents and translated by R gine Pernoud, Joan of Arc seeks to answer the questions asked by Joan's contemporaries as well as us: Who was she? Whence came she? What had been her life and exploits? ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Rita Chang-Eppig
Current price: $28.99
A Good Morning America Buzz PickFor readers of Outlawed, Piranesi, and The Night Tiger, a dazzling historical novel about a legendary Chinese pirate queen, her fight to save her fleet from the forces allied against them, and the dangerous price of power. As Recommended ByThe TODAY Show * Washington ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Listed in the best books of 2023 by The Economist "Invigorating debut . . . [a] full-throated rallying cry." —Publishers Weekly One of Ms. Magazine's "most-anticipated feminist books of 2023" An eye-opening firsthand account of the ongoing and trailblazing feminist movement in South Korea—one that t ... Read More about
David F. Walker
Current price: $19.99
WINNER OF THE EISNER AWARD • A bold and fascinating graphic novel history of the revolutionary Black Panther Party. Founded in Oakland, California, in 1966, the Black Panther Party for Self-Defense was a radical political organization that stood in defiant contrast to the mainstream civil rights mov ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Sophie Adriansen
Current price: $27.99
This is the story of an emancipation, that of a young black and poor woman living in an America marked by segregation. This is the story of a fierce battle, that of a musician involved in the civil rights movement. This is the story of a long career, that of a pianist and singer as talented as deter ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
An encounter between Emory Douglas of the Black Panthers and autonomous Indigenous and Zapatista communities helps us understand the role of revolutionary art in times of distress. ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
An unapologetic guide for readers who are Black, masc, and bi—unlearning biphobia, coming out, combatting erasure, and embodying your whole self Through cutting social analysis, personal stories, and need-to-know advice, Dear Bi Men reclaims bi+ visibility in a culture of erasure—and unapologeticall ... Read More about
Available for Preorder
A landmark history of one hundred years of war waged against the Palestinians from the foremost US historian of the Middle East, told through pivotal events and family history In 1899, Yusuf Diya al-Khalidi, mayor of Jerusalem, alarmed by the Zionist call to create a Jewish national home in Palestin ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Why violence in the Congo has continued despite decades of international intervention Well into its third decade, the military conflict in the Democratic Republic of the Congo has been dubbed a "forever war"--a perpetual cycle of war, civil unrest, and local feuds over power and identity. Millions ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Ernesto Che Guevara's diary of his revolutionary struggle in Congo alongside Cuban guerrillas. In April 1965, Che Guevara set out clandestinely from Havana to Congo to head a force of some 200 veteran Cuban soldiers to assist the African liberation movement against Belgian colonialists, four years a ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days